Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II addressing His subjects at one of the functions last year.


MENGO – Ssaabasajja Kabaka Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II has today Friday, February 22, made some changes in his cabinet, he has dropped and promoted some.

Kabaka Mutebi dropped Ambassador Emmanuel Sendawula from First Deputy Katikkiro replacing him with Hajj Twaha Kigongo Kaawaase who is also Minister in charge of Administration and ICT/Innovation.

Kaawaase has been serving as 2nd Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Education.

Speaker Nelson Kawalya has also been dropped and Patrick Luwagga Mugumbule named new Lukiiko Speaker.

Mugumbule will be deputized by Ahmed Lwasa who retains his position as Deputy Speaker.

Also notable among the changes is the appointment of Christopher Bwanika as Kingdom Attorney General replacing prominent lawyer David Mpanga.

Mpanga who has also been the Kingdom Local Government Minister has been at the helm of the positions since 2013.

Counsel Mpanga has been appointed Minister in charge of special assignments.

Apollo Nelson Makubuya, who has been serving as 3rd Deputy Katikkiro and Minister for Justice and Constitutional Affairs, has now been appointed Kabaka’s Chief Adviser.

Charles Peter Mayiga remains the Kingdom Prime Minister (Katikkiro)

 The new Cabinet as it stands

Katikkir-Charles Peter Mayiga

1st Deputy Katikkiro and Minister for ICT/innovations-Dr. Twaha Kigongo Kaawaase

2nd Deputy Katikkiro and minister for finance-Robert Waggwa Nsibirwa

Speaker-Patrick Luwagga Mugumbule

Deputy speaker-Ahmed Lwasa

Attorney General and minister for local government- Christopher Bwanika

Minister for special assignments-David F K Mpanga

Minister for information, Lukiiko, Cabinet Affairs, Protocol and Kingdom spokespersom-Noah Kiyimba

Minister for investment, education, Health, gender and Nnabagereka's office- Dr Prosperous Nankindu

Minister for lands, agriculture, trade and cooperatives, Bulungibwansi, and Environment-Mariam Mayanja Nkalubo

Minister for Heritage, Tourism, and Security-Kyewalabye Male

Minister for Youths, Sports and Recreation-Henry Kiberu Ssekabembe

State Ministers

State Minister for local government, Kabaka's tours, and Buganda Affairs Abroad-Joseph Kawuki

State Minister for agriculture, trade and cooperatives-Hajji Amis Kakomo


Permanent Secretary- Nantege Josephine

Senior Advisors

Emmanuel Ssendaula-Chairman

William Matovu

Mohamood Thobani

William Naggaga

Senior Advisor in the Palace- Apollo Nelson Makubuya

Advisor on cultural and traditional matters-Denis Walusimbi Ssengendo