Welcome to Buganda Kingdom Official Website

The Kingdom of Buganda is situated in the Central region of the country known today as Uganda. It is right in the heart of Africa astride the Equator and in the North West shores of Lake Victoria and it's also the source of the great river Nile. Buganda Kingdom is the home to the nation's political and commercial capital city Kampala as well as the country's main International airport Entebbe.

The Kingdom's equatorial climate provides plentiful sunshine which is moderated by relatively high altitude. Since it's near Lake Victoria, it's mean annual temperature ranges from 16 degrees 25 degrees Celsius. Daytime temperature averages between 8 degrees to 10 degrees Celsius warmer than night temperatures. Rainfall is evenly distributed around the area and the mean annual rainfall often exceeds 2100 millimeters. The area is warm rather than hot and temperatures vary little throughout the year.The Baganda had a centralised system of government which by 1750 was the most well organised More..

September 2, 2019


Bright Stars talisman Nelson Ssenkatuka scored the all-important goal as Mbogo beat 10-man Kkobe 1-0 to clinch the Bika Byaganda football competition.

His majesty the Kabaka of Buganda Ronald Muwenda Mutebi II graced the grand finale of the competition at Masaka Recreation grounds on Saturday.

Senkatuka’s strike came in the opening half of the game and was enough to earn Mbogo a third Bika shield in the clan’s history.

In the second half of the contest, Kkobe goalie Mutumba Adadi was sent off for head butting Mbogo striker Yunus Sentamu.

This was also the second time that Mbogo won the competition at the same venue, having previously won it in 1950; they are also 2015 Bika champions.

In the third place playoff, last year’s winners Nkima edged Mpindi 4-3 on penalties after a 1-1 all draw.


Nyonyi Nyange beat record Netball winners and defending champions Mmamba 20-19 to win the 2019 championship.


1950: Mbogo

1951: Ngabi Nsamba

1952: Mmamba Gabunga

1953: Not Held

1954: Not Held

1955: Kkobe

1956: Mmamba Gabunga

1957: Nyonyi Nyange

1958: Ngeye

1959: Mmamba Gabunga

1960: Ffumbe

1961: Bbalangira and Kkobe

1962: Nkima

1963: Not Held

1964: Mmamba Gabunga

1965: Mmamba Gabunga

1987: Ngabi Nsamba

1988: Lugave

1989: Mmamba Gabunga

1990: Lugave

1991: Ngeye

1992: Ngeye

1993: Nkima

1994: Mmamba Gabunga

1995: Lugave

1996: Mpindi

1997: Nnyonyi Nyange

1998: Lugave

1999: Lugave

2000: Mpologoma

2001: Ngo

2002: Mpologoma

2003: Mmamba Gabunga

2004: Lugave

2005: Ffumbe

2006: Mpindi

2007: Ngabi Nsamba/Mpindi