Welcome to Buganda Kingdom Official Website

The Kingdom of Buganda is situated in the Central region of the country known today as Uganda. It is right in the heart of Africa astride the Equator and in the North West shores of Lake Victoria and it's also the source of the great river Nile. Buganda Kingdom is the home to the nation's political and commercial capital city Kampala as well as the country's main International airport Entebbe.

The Kingdom's equatorial climate provides plentiful sunshine which is moderated by relatively high altitude. Since it's near Lake Victoria, it's mean annual temperature ranges from 16 degrees 25 degrees Celsius. Daytime temperature averages between 8 degrees to 10 degrees Celsius warmer than night temperatures. Rainfall is evenly distributed around the area and the mean annual rainfall often exceeds 2100 millimeters. The area is warm rather than hot and temperatures vary little throughout the year.The Baganda had a centralised system of government which by 1750 was the most well organised More..

He was born to Ssekabaka Ssemakookiro and Ndwaddeewaaziba of the Nseenene clan and his Royal sister was Kiyumba. His Twin was Bifulanye, his Home (Nnyumba) was Bunnyabukadde and the Jjembe was called Manyonyi. He ruled from 1821 to 1824 and

his Prime Minisiters were

  1. Kaddu Wamala of the Nvuma clan,
  2. Katinda of the Nvuma clan,
  3. Kafumbirwango of the Lugave clan,
  4. Kimoga of the Lugave clan and
  5. Ssebuko of the Mmamba clan.

His tombs are found at Kasengejje in Busiro.

He had many wives who include some of the following;

1) Bukirwa of the Ggonge clan
2) Bayimba of the Nkima clan
3) Gwowemukira from Ankole
4) Kayaga Baganza of the Kkobe clan
5) Kisirisa of the Ggonge clan
6) Kizza Kaddulubaale of the Ffumbe clan
7) Kyosubyamunno of the Nkima clan
8) Kyotowanda of the Mmamba clan
9) Kyowola of the Ndiga clan
10) Lubadde of the Ngeye clan and many more.

His children included

  1. Kiggala,
  2. Nakibinge,
  3. Kiteerera,
  4. Kimera,
  5. Ndawula,
  6. Lule,
  7. Babirye,
  8. Nakato,
  9. Kaggwa,
  10. Ssekamanya,
  11. Mbajjwe,
  12. Bamweyana,
  13. Mugogo Bifuulanye Mumawe,
  14. Nangadde,
  15. Nakayenga,
  16. Nabalonga Twayise,
  17. Nassolo,
  18. Kagere,
  19. Nambi,
  20. Kyomubi,
  21. Nakangu,
  22. Nalumansi,
  23. Luwedde,
  24. Nnakku,
  25. Kimera,
  26. Lumansi,
  27. Tebandeke,
  28. Ssuuna,
  29. Wasswa,
  30. Ndawula,
  31. Mutebi,
  32. Nakalema,
  33. Kigoye,
  34. Ndagire,
  35. Kajumba,
  36. Nakalira,
  37. Nassuna Kyetenga,
  38. Kizza,
  39. Mpaalikitenda,
  40. Nabisubi and
  41. Nagaddya.

Kamaanya fought different battles with Busoga and he managed to win them with help of his strong men who included Kikwabanga, Ssematimba and Ssewankambo.