Welcome to Buganda Kingdom Official Website

The Kingdom of Buganda is situated in the Central region of the country known today as Uganda. It is right in the heart of Africa astride the Equator and in the North West shores of Lake Victoria and it's also the source of the great river Nile. Buganda Kingdom is the home to the nation's political and commercial capital city Kampala as well as the country's main International airport Entebbe.

The Kingdom's equatorial climate provides plentiful sunshine which is moderated by relatively high altitude. Since it's near Lake Victoria, it's mean annual temperature ranges from 16 degrees 25 degrees Celsius. Daytime temperature averages between 8 degrees to 10 degrees Celsius warmer than night temperatures. Rainfall is evenly distributed around the area and the mean annual rainfall often exceeds 2100 millimeters. The area is warm rather than hot and temperatures vary little throughout the year.The Baganda had a centralised system of government which by 1750 was the most well organised More..

He was born to Ssekabaka Muteesa I and Kiribakka of the Mmamba clan and his Royal sister was Ndagire. His Twin was called Lukungo, his Home (Nnyumba) was called Bunnyabukadde and his Jjembe was called Manyonyi. He ruled from the 2-8-1888 to 12-10-1888.

He ruled for only 72 days and his Prime Ministers were Henry Nnyonyintono of the Ndiga clan and Muguluma of the Njovu clan.

His tombs are found at Masanafu in Kyaddondo. He also had many wives and some of them include the following;

  • Baliira of the Ggonge clan
  • Butema of the Nkima clan
  • Kaaja of the Nseenene clan
  • Laazaaliya of the Ngabi clan
  • Lulaba of the Lugave clan
  • Namubiru of the Mmamba clan
  • Namuli of the Mpindi clan
  • Namusoke of the Nvuma clan
  • Nambajjwe of the Mmamba clan
  • Nimbi of the Ngabi clan
  • Nimbi of the Ngabi clan
  • Tebalyewa of the Ngabi clan
  • Teyasingira of the Mmamba clan
  • Wandeeta of the Ggonge clan
  • Zandaba of the Mmamba clan.

His children included amongst the following; Mazzi, Siriibwa, Walulyo, Kibuuka, Nabadda, Muyinda, Nassiwa, Gusite, Tebandeke, Lulaba, Kagungwa, Lukongwa, Kiwanuka, Walulya, Gulibagwira, Ssekamaanya, Namulinzi, Mwanga, Kagere, Ccwa, Ngeza, Namulenzi, Namikka, Namusisi and Nassiwa.