Welcome to Buganda Kingdom Official Website

The Kingdom of Buganda is situated in the Central region of the country known today as Uganda. It is right in the heart of Africa astride the Equator and in the North West shores of Lake Victoria and it's also the source of the great river Nile. Buganda Kingdom is the home to the nation's political and commercial capital city Kampala as well as the country's main International airport Entebbe.

The Kingdom's equatorial climate provides plentiful sunshine which is moderated by relatively high altitude. Since it's near Lake Victoria, it's mean annual temperature ranges from 16 degrees 25 degrees Celsius. Daytime temperature averages between 8 degrees to 10 degrees Celsius warmer than night temperatures. Rainfall is evenly distributed around the area and the mean annual rainfall often exceeds 2100 millimeters. The area is warm rather than hot and temperatures vary little throughout the year.The Baganda had a centralised system of government which by 1750 was the most well organised More..

He was born to Ssekabaka Kamaanya and Nakkazi Kannyange of the Mmamba clan and his royal sister was Sikyagatema. His Mulongo was called Kasajja, his home (Nnyumba) was called Batandabezaala and the Jjembe was called Simuwuune. He ruled from 1824 to 1854 and his Prime Ministers were Migekyamye of the Ngabi clan and Kayiira of the Mbogo clan.

He gave the named Kamalabyonna of Buganda to his Prime Minister Kayiira and this name has lived up to today. His tombs are found at Wamala in Busiro. SsuunaП had the greatest number of wives. He married 20,180 wives and had 2100 children.

However, despite the number of wives being big, only the following are remembered;

1) Ssaalinge of the Mpeewo clan
2) Mirika Balaguzi of the Lugave clan
3) Gwolyoka of the Njovu clan
4) Namammonde Kabejja of the Ffumbe clan
5) Kikolwamuganzi Kaddulubaale of the Mbogo clan
6) Kubina of the Ffumbe clan
7) Ndimugambako.

He also had very many children but the following are remembered;
Kiweewa, Jjuuko, Dina Namirembe, Mukaabya Muteesa1, Sserwola, Nassolo, Kyebattula Ndagire, Lukanga, Wampamba, Kato, Babirye, Nawatti, Nuhu Kyabasinga, Kajumba, Kiyimba and Nassuuna.